RSS Feed

DIY Lampshade Makeover

Posted on

lampshade copy

I have been lukewarm about the lampshade in my bedroom for awhile. It has gotten pretty dinged up moving to and from college a couple times; the plain white shade with the dents is not my jam.

DSC03115

Before following through on the bamboo covered shade I had considered some other options before now.

lamp4   IMG_2781-2

There’s this sweet little shade that had a Sharpie taken to it over at a little glass box, or this Anthropologie inspired DIY ruffled burlap shade how-to on Tatertots & Jello

A couple nights ago I was on Pinterest and came across a tutorial on House of Fifty by Janell Beals. I was clicking around, browsing through some of her projects when I came across this post where Janell covered a basic, drum shade with bamboo she had spray painted white.

IMG_8634

Her tutorial seemed really doable and the texture of the bamboo on the lamp shade is really beautiful. You can see her finished shade on the pendant in the room here.

When I was out running some errands, I stopped by Michael’s craft store to pick up a bundle of bamboo. Once I read House of Fifty’s tutorial I wanted to just follow through on it.

DSC03122

I laid out my pieces on the floor. I didn’t want to cut ones that were too big, or bowed. After I measured how wide I needed my bamboo pieces to be I started by cutting them to size with a saw. The saw was not my friend. I figured if bamboo is about the size of the branches on the bushes in my yard I could use garden clippers to trim the stalks.

DSC03128

I cut a whole bunch of the bamboo stems, until I couldn’t cut anymore. I ran out 😦  I got as far as I could with the bamboo I had. I laid out all the pieces I cut to make sure the pieces fit together, which didn’t really help in the long run because gluing them to the lamp was different from having them laid out on a flat surface. Laying them out did help me see the different widths of stalks, or if one had a curve in part of it. It looked like House of Fifty’s bamboo was a little more uniform in shape and size which would make it a bit easier to glue all the pieces in a row next to each other, but I’m not sure where she found her’s, and I was working with what I could find in stores.

DSC03130

So, this is how far I got.

DSC03138

I sent my mother to grab another bundle of bamboo on her way home from work for me so I could finish my shade. So after round two of clipping bamboo and hot-gluing it onto the shade here is what we have:

photo(1)

photo(2)

Here is how the finished shade and lamp base look.

DSC03140

After seeing it on the lamp base I’m not sold. I really like the texture that the bamboo brings to the room. I don’t believe that painting it white would save this pairing either. I think the cool, modern, sleek feel of the lamp base doesn’t jive with bamboo lamp shade. I’m might look into getting a new lamp base from Target or some other store.

-MM

One response »

  1. Pingback: It’s Pinterest Challenge Time! « Maggiemay and Beebop

Leave a Reply

